top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChristy Bennett

Rocking Books: This is Gonna Hurt by Nikki Sixx


What’s up guys? Shiningbind here with another episode of Shiningbind Band Talk. If you have a moment, please take a moment by going to any of the social media platforms we are on and give us a follow @shiningbindbandtalk. This latest episode is about a book we all love as we are going to dive into analyzing the book, This is Gonna Hurt by the one and only, Nikki Sixx himself. Anyways, let’s begin.


This is Gonna Hurt was released back in 2011, and if I recall, I bought the book around 2013 or so, and got it signed by Nikki Sixx himself back in 2017 at his photography exhibit. Anyways, when I sat down and read the book, I felt it was very spiritual and down to earth. I remember that was one of the main reasons Sixx got into doing photography in the first place. I love his style of work where he captures the real and true along with the inner beauty, especially because nowadays, things are heavily filtered or photoshopped to make it look “perfect”. In my eyes, there is non such thing as perfection as we are all human and flawed. Hell, the word “perfect” shouldn’t even exist.


That’s one of the things I love about Sixx’s work. It shows what’s real behind the makeup of outer beauty. For example, when he took that picture of the person who had burns on the body. It shows that inner beauty is what matters, especially in Sixx:AM music. The book actually gave me a different outlook in life.


Overall, I give this book a 10 out of 10 because it’s helped save lives of many people, it’s uplifting and very inspiring. I do recommend it to friends and family. Anyways, that’s it for now until next time on Shiningbind Band Talk. Peace out!




17 views0 comments
bottom of page