top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChristy Bennett

Say Cheese: Meet Michael Pool!

Say Cheese: Meet Michael Pool!


Hello all, Shiningbind here, and here we have another special guest here. He’s a photographer and one of his well known photos consist of DJ Ashba and James Michael of the band, Sixx:AM. Here he is, Michael Pool.


Shiningbind: First off, Michael, how are you doing during the quarantine?


Michael: I'm hanging in there. I live in Los Angeles, a city that is still recommending staying safe at home and opening very slowly. I take my father to his chemo treatments a couple times a month, so I've been very careful not to put myself in any situation where I could become infected and pass it on to my father. Likewise, I'm at a higher risk at the hospital every time I take my father, so I don't want to pick something up and pass it on to my son. Therefore I have chosen to self quarantine for most of the last 75 (ish) days. My son has been staying with his mother but I visit frequently, while maintaining a safe distance.

Aside from missing time with my son and the rest of my friends and family, I miss working together with other creatives to make beautiful imagery for my clients and for myself.


Shiningbind: I am glad you’re okay. It is scary out there. Anyways, what photos did you like taking and are proud of?


Michael: I would like to say I take pride in all my work. Granted some shoots and images are more fun than others. I really enjoy photographing well known faces because they obviously get more eyes on my work. An immediately recognizable face like Rob Lowe's, will generally make people stop and take notice of an image more than a picture on ME! I also love working with a crew to build an amazing set that may be tricky to photograph. My crew and I once hung over 50 lit tea candles, inside glass candle holders, from the grid in the studio ceiling. I eventually shot a model within the set, but the candles hung at different depths and heights and was a piece of art on it's own.


Shiningbind: That’s so cool. Speaking of lighting, what kind of lighting do you like to use for your photoshoots?


Michael: That all really depends on the image I'm trying to capture. I've been doing lighting for 25 years so I'm pretty flexible and can give my clients what they need, whether that looks like natural lighting, flash photography, or a combination of both.


Shiningbind: If you were to take any photos of big name bands, what band would that be?


Michael: I would have loved to photograph the Rolling Stones in their prime. David Bowie or Tupac before they past would have been a proud moment for me. If we're talking a more contemporary band, I would choose The National, solely based on my love for their music.


Shiningbind: Also, do you have a specific angle you like to shoot at? Please explain more in detail.


Michael: I don't have a specific angle I like to shoot. I try to remember and apply the things I've learned over the years to help give my pictures the feeling I'm trying to convey. Shooting low to high gives a subject a more heroic look. Some facial features look better shot from a bit higher angle. It all depends on the subject and what I'm trying to accomplish with the picture.


Shiningbind: In addition you that, what kind of camera do you use and why?


Michael: I personally use the Canon series cameras. I'm comfortable and quick with these cameras, so I feel more confident, flexible and ready to capture that split second moment with the Canons. I also use the Hasselblad cameras with the Phase One backs, if my client needs a huge file.


Shiningbind: Going back to the lighting, how much of the ISO exposure do you use when snapping photos?


Michael: As a rule, I use the lowest ISO I can in the situation I'm in. In the studio this is easily controlled. If I am planning on shooting really fast I will go to a higher ISO so that I pull less power from the lighting packs and they recycle faster.

Using natural light, it's a juggling act between depth of field, shudder speed (don't want blurry pics) and keeping the ISO as low as possible to give me the strongest file to work with.


Shiningbind: What was your favorite moment when doing a photoshoot?


Michael: When I was a younger man, I was assisting a Celebrity photographer at Carrie Fisher's house. After the shoot I got up the guts to tell her that I'd had a crush on her for 20 years. She walked up to me and planted the sweetest kiss on my lips! Haha! I know you meant something from one of my own shoots but, I can't think of anything that would beat that story!


Shiningbind: Finally, would you take concert photos if you could?


Michael: Concert photos are not really my thing. I think if I were to start getting jobs in this genre it may change my mind a bit. But I like relaxing and getting into the music when I'm at a show. Not that I wouldn't do it if I had the opportunity, but it has never been one of my goals.


Thank you so much, Michael, for being here. It’s been a pleasure. You take the most amazing photos. Anyways, that’s all we have for now, guys, thank you for tuning in until next time!






6 views0 comments
bottom of page