top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChristy Bennett

SONG OF THE WEEK: I've Been Everywhere by L.A. Rats

What’s up guys? Shiningbind here with another episode of Shiningbind Band Talk. If you have that moment, please take a moment by hitting the follow button on Instagram or Facebook @shiningbindbandtalk. Also, please be sure to give our partners @timeendsradio a follow also. This episode is going to be spicy as the word got out that Nikki Sixx, John 5, Rob Zombie, and Tommy Clufetos had formed a supergroup together known as L.A. Rats. On May 21st, thay had released a new single for the Netflix movie, Ice Road. If you have a Netflix account, be sure to tune into Ice Road which will be released on May 25th. Anyways, we’re going to dive into analyzing the song cover by L.A. Rats known as I’ve Been Everywhere.


I’ve Been Everywhere was a cover they did as the original was by Johnny Cash, especially when it comes to traveling everywhere. I will say, they had nailed it on the spot including the vocal work that Rob Zombie had done. It is a very hard song to sing, and the fact Zombie managed to pull it off blew me away. Moreover, what really makes the song interesting is the picking of the guitar by John 5 because the timing of it and the rhythm makes it unique, especially when the original was a flat out country song. The way L.A. Rats pulled off are turning up the volume where one can hear the original elements, but injected with steroids to give it that rock and roll feel. It actually makes a person like myself want to get up and dance. It is quite a catchy tune and knowing my love for rock and roll, it really makes it pop.


Going back to the vocals, Zombie has that perfect tone where it makes the song stand out even more, especially with his versatile deep voice. I do dub it as one of the best covers I have heard. From my point of view, I do hope L.A. Rats create some more music and get it out there. Hell, hopefully they tour someday.


Overall, I give this song a 10 out 0f 10 because with covers, it’s a hit or miss where they can sound either bad or good. This one, was a hit because of the right vocals, the guitar picking, and perfect chemistry among the members. I do highly recommend it to friends and family. Anyways, that’s all the time for now until next time on Shiningbind Band Talk, so rock on L.A. Rats and peace out!




22 views0 comments
bottom of page