top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChristy Bennett

The Heroin Diaries Musical is put on Hold According to Nikki Sixx


What’s up guys? Shiningbind here with another episode on Shiningbind Band Talk. this episode, I am bringing some news and updates to you guys here in a new segment. This episode, we are talking about the project Nikki Sixx himself had in mind for awhile, and that is The Heroin Diaries Musical. For those who have not read The Heroin Diaries, I do recommend it as it is a really amazing book that talks about Nikki Sixx’s story about battling Heroin Addiction. Happy to say today that Sixx is now an advocate for addicts all around the globe.


If you read The Heroin Diaries, it’s the many journal entries Nikki has written back in his days as an addict and battling heroin addiction as well as alcohol. However, once it was released, it was the New York times Bestseller List for 28 weeks. According to BBO NYC, Every eleven minutes, someone in the United states dies from an Opioid Overdose which hit hard at home as I had lost my cousin from an opioid overdose back in 2018. The overall goal of creating the musical is to collaborate with host partners to raise awareness on the opioid crisis. According to Sixx himself, yes, the musical is planning to tour to a city near you. The 61-year-old artist with his band, Sixx:AM, released The Heroin Diaries Soundtrack back in 2007 which Sobernation had reported that “The project has been in the works for years.”


“It started with the book, which started with … me going to my storage locker to pick up a guitar,” Sixx told the Daily News. “I kept journals for years. One of the cardboard boxes had busted and these journals had fallen out. I remember sitting there reading these journals, and by then I was a father of four, sober for many, many years, and it was shocking to read this and what happened behind my addiction.”


Unfortunately, 2020 came along and the coronavirus pandemic had hit back in March. Sixx was on Twitter right before Halloween, doing an AskSixx to his fans, and stated to myself when I asked him about the Heroin Diaries Musical, he stated:

“Like Everything else Covid Related it’s on hold.”


Like everything else being postponed or put on hold because of the pandemic, we are unsure when the project will resume. We’ll just have to wait and see what happens. Until then, I do highly recommend once again getting a copy of The Heroin Diaries, and reading it. Peace out, folks!



15 views0 comments
bottom of page